Skip to Content
This is to preview the header when not logged in

Our governance

Our governance


The Board of Trustees has overall responsibility for the governance of the Autism Schools Trust. It consists of individuals who have the skills, competencies and perspective needed to govern the organisation.

Neil Goulden - Chair

Neil had a highly successful 40 year career in the Leisure and Hospitality industry. Since 2014 he has followed a portfolio career focussed on his keen interest in promoting Social Justice through equal opportunities in Health, Housing and Education. He is Chair of Clarion Housing, the UK's largest Housing Association, Chair at Nottingham Trent University and Chair of the Finance Committee at healthcare charity Sue Ryder, in addition to his work with Ambitious about Autism. 

Jolanta Lasota

Director of national voluntary sector organisations, including I CAN (which ran three non-maintained special schools) and the Governance Hub (a national body set up by the Cabinet Office to support the governance of the third sector). She is a Trustee of Contact a Family, the national charity supporting families of disabled children, a Board Member of Autism Education trust, Chair of SEND Consortium. She is currently Chief Executve of Ambitious about Autism. She is a parent of a child with special needs.

Bruno Paulson

Bruno Paulson has 19 years’ experience of financial analysis. He is currently Fund Manager at Morgan Stanley Investment Management, formerly as Equity Analyst covering financials at Sanford Bernstein and Management Consultant at Boston Consulting Group. He holds an MBA from INSEAD.

Charlotte Warner

Charlotte has a background in NHS management and private sector commercial negotiation, along with an MBA from INSEAD. Charlotte is parent of a child with special needs and was the parent lead for establishing The Rise School. 

Kevin Oakhill

Kevin Oakhill is Director of Education Services at Ambitious about Autism. This encompasses the  development of new and existing services across the organisation including Ambitious College and a broad external Training and Consultancy offer. Kevin is also a trustee and Treasurer at MIND in Ealing and Hounslow, and was previously a trustee at Changemakers and governor at Harpenden Free School.

Lucy Nutt 

Lucy has over 20 years’ experience working in schools and educational management. This includes working in special education and with children from 4 to 18. Lucy has worked for local authorities and within an academy chain. Currently, she is employed by the Tri-borough Education Service working with schools in RBKC, LBHF and WCC. Lucy is also a qualified Ofsted inspector and has co-authored the LDA book, Assemblies to Teach the Golden Rules. 

Joanna Healey

Joanna Healey was part of the initial proposer group for The Rise School. Jo is a corporate lawyer and is also a Trustee of The Foundation Tears Trust. She is also involved in various outreach projects in East London.

Elizabeth Stanton

Elizabeth is a recently retired EY partner. She graduated in Mathematics before qualifying as a Chartered Accountant. She moved overseas after qualifying returning to the UK in 1986 when she joined EY. In her career with EY she was an audit partner on a wide range of FTSE listed clients. She has lead IPOs, bid/defence work and large fraud investigations. She also held various management roles most recently being responsible for Risk Management in the assurance practice for the UK and Ireland. She is a Governor of Cranleigh School where she is a member of the Finance, Strategic Planning and Risk Management committees.

Lesley Longstone

Lesley became Chief Executive of  the Independent Police Complaints Commission in September 2014. Lesley has many years' experience at very senior levels in the public sector, both in the UK and overseas. She has been a member of the Department for Education Board, initially as Director General with responsibility for young people, working with the Home Office, Ministry of Justice, police and Youth Justice Board to deliver positive outcomes for young people. She then moved on to lead the change programme that among other things, saw the successful delivery of the Academies programme. Lesley's career before then included several years working for the Employment Service, an arms-length body of the Department for Employment. She spent time working in New Zealand as the Chief Executive of the Ministry of Education.


Trustee Role Appointed/Resigned
Neil Goulden Chair of Trustees  Appointed 28th September 2015
Helen Baker Vice Chair Appointed 7th June 2013
Jolanta Lasota   Appointed 18th December 2012
Bruno Paulson   Appointed 18th December 2012
Charlotte Warner   Appointed 18th December 2012
Steve Scown   Appointed 18th December 2012
Lucy Nutt   Appointed 29th June 2015
Kevin Oakhill   Appointed 29th June 2015
Joanna Healey   Appointed 23rd November 2015

Shareholding members of the Trust

  • Ambitious About Autism
  • Current Chair of Trustees

Core Documents


The Rise School

  • Head Teacher: Sarah Roscoe
  • Interim Operations Director: Philip Moss
  • Deputy Head Teacher: Helen Ralston
  • Assistant Headteacher: Julian Ruddick
  • Head of Behaviour & Welfare: Hannah Clements
  • Primary Phase Leader: Bernadett Rankasz
  • Business & Operations Manager:  Max Robertson
  • Head of Primary Behaviour & Welfare: Nataly Figuero
  • Head of Secondary Behaviour & Welfare: Daniel Garbutt
  • Head of Wellbeing: Manaz Pimple
  • Head of Maths & IT: Fred Ovola
  • Assessment for Learning: Jennifer Greville-Giddings


Back to top